1

Message from the Conference Chairman

On behalf of the ISEM 2017 Organizing Committee, we are proud to publish selected contributions presented at the 18th International Symposium on Applied Electromagnetics and Mechanics (ISEM 2017) that was held successfully from September 3rd to 6th, 2017 at the Majestic – Palais des Congrès, Chamonix Mont-Blanc, France. The first symposium of the series took place in Japan in 1988, and, since then, they have continued to grow in numbers, significance, and international renown and respect, wherever their location, including Korea, the United Kingdom, Germany, Italy, France, Austria, the USA, China and Canada. We are honored, therefore, to pursue what has become a well-established tradition of presenting leading research and ideas in the area of applied electromagnetics and mechanics.

For ISEM 2017 in Chamonix Mont-Blanc, 380 contributions were submitted to the editorial board, of which 351 were accepted for presentation. More than 310 participants, including 79 students, from 22 countries attended Chamonix Mont-Blanc for the symposium! For this special issue of the International Journal of Applied Electromagnetics and Mechanics, the editorial committee received 247 extended papers and, after a painstaking review by the referees, 177 have been selected for publication. These record numbers show the significant interest and great importance of the topics covered by ISEM.

Many people contributed to the success of ISEM 2017 in Chamonix Mont-Blanc. I would especially like to thank the Organizing Committee: Afef Kedous-Lebouc, Nora Dempsey, Riccardo Scorretti and Marc Lambert who served as co-chairs. Anne Pellissier, Géraldine Pignatelli, Corinne Matarasso and Damien Corral did a great job in organizing the invitation process, venue and accommodation, design and graphic chart, and the website (http://www.isem2017.org/). And of course, none of this would have been possible without the efficient just-in-time management provided by Catherine Auguet-Chadaj and the hosting of MINES ParisTech. The ISEM International Steering Committee, chaired by Toshiyuki Takagi, and the organizers of ISEM 2015 in Kobe (Japan) were also very helpful, providing us with valuable information and advice. The editorial board chaired by Christophe Geuzaine did an outstanding job in reviewing papers for the conference. Lastly, we are of course grateful to all of our colleagues who helped us as reviewers.

Finally, I would like to thank our principal sponsors: the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (France), the Université Grenoble-Alpes and its engineering school Grenoble-INP (France), the Japan Society for the Promotion of Science, the Rhône-Alpes-Auvergne Region, the City of Chamonix Mont-Blanc, and the companies Altair and Schneider Electric.

Vincent Mazauric Chairman of ISEM 2017 in Chamonix Mont-Blanc Schneider Electric (Grenoble) and MINES ParisTech (Sophia-Antipolis) France

ISEM 2017 Editorial Board

Program Chair: Christophe Geuzaine (Institut Montefiore, Liege, Belgium)

Track Chairs:

- Afef Lebouc (G2Elab, Grenoble, France)
- Nora Dempsey (Institut Néel, Grenoble, France)
- Riccardo Scorretti (Ampère, Lyon, France)
- Marc Lambert (GeePs, Gif-sur-Yvette, France)
- Dominique Lesselier (L2S, Gif-sur-Yvette, France)

Jérémie Aimé **Edouard Demaldent** Fumio Kojima Christophe Reboud Farid Allab Ping-Ping Ding Erin Kuci Maurizio Repetto Abderrazek Rezzoug Morgan Almanza Oliver Dorn Nicolas Labbe Yacine Amara Yves Du Terrail Couvat Vincent Lanfranchi Daniel Roger Laure-Line Rouve Laure Arbenz Frédéric Dubas Vladimir Lazarov Aktham Asfour Benjamin Ducharne Yann Le Bihan Andrew Rowe Yvan Avenas Stéphane Dufour Yvan Lefevre Vincent Russier Christophe Espanet Ziwei Li Georges Barakat Ruth Sabariego Michel Barrault Richard Evans Changyou Li Sheppard Salon Skandar Basrour Aurelie Fasquelle Jean-Francois Llibre Tatsuo Sawada Anouar Belahcen Marylin Fassenet Elena Lomonova Hans Schellekens Cedric Bellis Mouloud Feliachi Olivier Maloberti Philippe Schuster Mohamed Benbouzid Julien Fontchastagner Patrick Mas Gael Sebald Kevin Berger Radu Fratila Daniel Matt Georgi Shilyashki Sandor Bilicz Raffaele Fresa Gérard Meunier Fabien Sixdenier Marc Bonnet Nicolas Galopin **Oualid Messal** Anastasios Skarlatos Frederic Bouillault Lauric Garbuio Jonas Millinger Juliette Soulard Olivier Geoffrov Roberto Miorelli Toshiyuki Takagi Pascal Brochet Frederic Gillon Rachid Missoum Antonello Tamburrino François Buret Caifang Cai Leticia Gimeno Laurent Morel Julio Teixeira Theodoros Theodoulidis Olivier Chadebec Gilles Guerassimoff Anthony Moses Maya Hage-Hassan Tomasz Chady Sergio Muhlen André Thiaville Jean-Frédéric Charpentier Rachelle Hanna Takahisa Ohji Mounain Tounzi Hervé Chazal Florence Ossart Pranshu Upadhayay Laurent Hirsinger Jean-Claude Vannier Zhenmao Chen Sami Hlioui Jozsef Pavo **Emmanuel Hoang** Gérard Vinsard Fengiun Chen Sylvain Perez Ahmed Cheriet Ronan Perrussel Eric Vourch Xiao Hua Laurence Cheze Mickael Petit Guillaume Wasselynck Olivier Hubert Christian Chillet Hajime Igarashi Laureline Porcar Shejuan Xie Shiyou Yang Vincenzo Cirimele Olivier Isnard Denis Premel Romain Corcolle Noritaka Yusa Amit Jha Carlo Ragusa Olivier De La Barrière Hongli Ji **Brahim Ramdane** Yu Zhong Thierry De Larochelambert Laurent Jossic Peter Rasmussen Salah-Eddine Zouzou Yves Delannoy Pierre-Yves Joubert Almpion Ratsakou Francesco Dell'Isola Andrej Kitanovski Marie-Ange Raulet