CLINICAL HEMORHEOLOGY, Vol. 1, pp. 407-409, 1981 0271-5198/81/050407-03\$02.00/0 Printed in the USA. Copyright (c) 1982 Pergamon Press Ltd. All rights reserved.

PROCEEDINGS OF THE 2ND EUROPEAN CONFERENCE ON CLINICAL HEMORHEOLOGY

The Royal Society of Medicine, London, England 30. September to 2. October 1981

EDITOR: Alfred L. Copley

PREFACE

The Second European Conference on Clinical Hemorheology was organized by the Section of Measurement in Medicine and the Section of Pathology of the Royal Society of Medicine in collaboration with the French Group on Red Cell Filtration. It was held at the Kensington Conference Center in London from 30. September to 2. October 1981.

The Conference had Sir John Stallworthy as its President and Alfred L. Copley and George W. Scott Blair as Vice Presidents. The Conference Chairman John A. Dormandy was aided by an Organizing Committee and International Advisory Committee.

The members of the Organizing Committee were: J.A. Dormandy (Chairman), P.T. Flute (Vice-Chairman), J.R. Pattison (Treasurer), A.J. Barnes (Program Secretary), M. Rampling (Meeting Secretary), B. Komoniewska (Conference Secretary), G. Bennette, C. George, G.D. O. Lowe, G.A. Marcel, T. Pearson and D.J. Thomas.

The members of the International Advisory Committee were: A. Bloom, G. Born, P. Brånemark, N. Browse, C. Caro, S. Chien, S. Coccheri, N. Cristal, L. Dintenfass, T. Di Perri, J. Ditzel, P. Drouin, A. Ehrly, C. Forbes, S. Forconi, E. Fukada, P. Gaehtgens, J. Goodwin, M. Hanss, H. Hartert, G. Holti, E. Housley, E. Housset, R. Johnsson, I. Juhan, Z. Latallo, P. Leblond, J. Marshall, H. Meiselman, J. Orgogozo, E. Preston, M. Samama, H. Schmid-Schönbein, G. V.F. Seaman, A. Silberberg, J. Sirs, R. Skalak, J.F. Stoltz, J. Stuart, P. Teitel, J.P. Thomas and M. Verstraete.

A committee consisting of Holger Schmid-Schönbein, Jean-Francois Stoltz, John A. Dormandy and Georges A. Marcel, as the representative of Laboratoires Hoechst, established several rules for the selection of the Fåhraeus Medal awardee.

The firm Laboratoires Hoechst, Paris La Défense, France is the sponsor of the medal to be awarded to a scientist who made a "recent most significant contribution to clinical hemorheology". The Fahraeus Medal Award, to be presented by a representative of Hoechst Laboratoires, includes a grant of US \$1,000, as well as travel and accomodation for the awardee. Mr. L. Alcopley was asked to design the medal with an artist's view of hemorheology for one side of the medal. The other side contains a representation of a portrait photograph of Robin Fåhraeus, the wording FÅHRAEUS MEDAL, date and place of the Conference and the specification 'Presented to' followed by the name of the awardee.

Laboratoires Hoechst is responsible for the manufacture which was cast in silver by La Monnaie de Paris. A detailed description of the medal is given separately in these Conference Proceedings.

The method of selection of the recipient, which was specified by the above mentioned committee, calls for two secret ballots by the scientist members of the Organizing Committee and the members of the international Advisory Committee of the Conference. The six candidates who received the greatest number of nominations were in alphabetic order: S. Chien, A.L. Copley, L. Dintenfass, A.M. Ehrly, H. Schmid-Schönbein and J.F. Stoltz.

Their names were circulated for final voting, which resulted in the election of Shu Chien as the first Fåhraeus Medal Awardee. The President of Laboratoires Hoechst, Paris, Bernard Winicki, presented the silver medal to Shu Chien, who then gave the Fåhraeus Medal Award Lecture, included in the Conference Proceedings in this issue. Shu Chien's recent portrait photograph is shown in Fig. 1.



FIG. 1 Recent photograph of Shu Chien, the Fahraeus Medal Awardee, 1981. Portrait Photo: Cress Studio, Englewood, NJ, 1981. The Conference Proceedings contain George W. Scott Blair's Lecture on the 'History of Rheology', preceded by a brief account of A.L. Copley's introductory speech.

The enclosed 123 abstracts of communications, accepted by the Conference Committee, had to be retyped in accordance to Instructions to Authors and submitted for publication by the Authors to the Editor of the Proceedings, not later than 30. November 1981. A total of 231 abstracts accepted by this Committee are contained in the book of Abstracts, issued by the Conference.

A report by the Chairman of the Conference is placed following the abstracts.

At a meeting by the Organizing Committee and the Advisory Committee, Holger Schmid-Schönbein was elected chairman of the 3rd European Conference on Clinical Hemorheology. It was decided that this conference will take place in association with the 5. International Congress of Biorheology, to be held in Baden-Baden, F.R. Germany from 20. to 25. August 1983 under the presidency of Siegfried Witte, Karlsruhe, F.R. Germany. Siegfried Witte, Co-Editorin-Chief of CLINICAL HEMORHEOLOGY, was elected President of the International Society of Biorheology at the Society's last Congress, held from 27. July to 1. August 1981 at Jikei University Medical School, Tokyo, Japan.

A.L. Copley

New York, N.Y. 1 December 1981