BIORHEOLOGY 19; 103, 1982 0006-355X/82/010103-01\$03.00/0 Printed in the USA. Copyright (c) 1982 Pergamon Press Ltd. All rights reserved.

POISEUILLE AWARD CEREMONY

Chairman: Eiichi Fukada
President of the International Society of Biorheology

Introduction

Ladies and Gentlemen,

It is my great honour and privilege to preside at the convocation to present the Society's sixth Poiseuille Gold Medal to Professor Alexander Silberberg of the Weizmann Institute of Science. Professor Silberberg has accomplished achievements of great distinction in the science of biorheology and contributed greatly to the development of the International Society of Biorheology.

At the ceremony of the presentation of the Poiseuille Award, it is traditional for the previous awardee to give a speech and present the medal to the person to be honored. To our regret, Dr. Maurice Joly of the Faculté de Médecine Pitié-Salpêtrière, Paris, the previous Poiseuille Medal Awardee is unable to be in Tokyo at this time. I have, therefore, asked Prof. Harold Wayland of California Institute of Technology, to give an introductory address to honour Prof. Silberberg. The presentation of the Medal will then be made by Prof. Syoten Oka of the National Cardiovascular Center, Japan, who received the Poiseuille Award three years prior to Dr. Joly.

The International Society of Biorheology is grateful to the firm Dr. Thiemann of Lunen, Federal Republic of Germany, as the sponsor of the Society's highest award and to Professor Mayer, the Scientific Director of this firm. We also greatly appreciate the kind help of Prof. Helmut Hartert who ordered the production of the Medal and brought it from Germany to Japan.